Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Archaeological Interest

I am a newbie to this forum.

I am an archaeologist specializing in medieval Ireland. I direct an ongoing excavation and survey in Ireland at a site called Kilteasheen (http://www.kilteasheen.com). We have used geophysics extensively on our site. I am also part of a team of scholars at Saint Louis University trying to establish a program in archaeology in the Saint Louis area, focusing on Civil War and immigrant settlement.

I shall be blunt. I think academic archaeologists have broken the connection with metal detecting for too long (it is even worse in Ireland, where metal detecting is illegal). I came across the website by accident, and am very intrigued by the level of creative work done by the participants. In short, I think some of you could likely find archaeologists (like myself) who would be very interested in purchasing ready made instruments like magnetometers, magnetic susceptibility and ER equipment. The main companies that produce these items sell to corporate geophysical surveyors, it seems, so they can charge prices that academic researches as myself simply cant afford.

So, keep up the good work. I am going to keep looking through these forums...if anyone can produce a magnetic susceptibility meter that is comparable to a Barrington that can be used for a field survey, we should talk!

Tom Finan
    Assistant Professor of History
    Saint Louis University