Earth Resistivity (long request}

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Earth Resistivity (long request}

Hi All. Great site. I'm an utter newbie at treasure hunting (although not at electronics) and only became interested after a friend requested me to help him decide on what equipment to purchase. He decided to get an Accumeter, but I fortuitously stumbled on to this site before he made his purchase. From previous posts, I gather that the project published in EPE magazine is more sophisticated(and much cheaper to build) but runs at a much lower power output. Is this so? How does the lower power affect its performance? Is it possible to raise the output?
    Have any of you gentlefolk read the articles and, if so, what are your opinions?
    I am not neccesarily bent upon Earth Resitivity devices and would certainly consider any other devices that you may recommend.
    The gentleman has fixed a ceiling price of $7000 and intends to look for buried caches and relics which he suspects lie about 20 to 40 feet deep. This is in the Tribal areas in Pakistan, barren hilly land.
    I would be extremely grateful for your help, opinions, advice.
    Best Regards, Hussain

Re: Earth Resistivity (long request}

The Accumeter & other "GPLs" are simple 2-probe meters. They basically "work", if you're very careful. You can build one of these easily for $50 or so, and save $5000.

The EPE resistivity meter is a true 4-probe meter, which generally gives better results, and also has data logging & software, which makes resistivity measurements MUCH easier.

The EPE meter has active electronics, including a sense differential amplifier. The GPLs are all-passive, the probes directly drive the analog meter, so more power is needed to make them work. This is analogous to building a metal detector in which the receive coil directly drives a meter, with no electronics in between.

- Carl

Comment