Geophysical Methods For The Investigation Of Subsurface

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Geophysical Methods For The Investigation Of Subsurface

Hi, I have a course work where I should suggest geophysical methods for the investigation for the construction of the rock tunnel. I know the location of the tectonic zone and I need to investigate soil conditions and bedrock quality.
    Unfortunately I have no previous experience with geology. Hence, would like to get some suggestions, please.
    Tunnel depth will be between 30 and 100 m below the ground. It is known that soil depth is 3 - 10 m and it mainly consists of till, sometimes covered by peat. Minor areas consist of sand and gravel. Gneiss is dominating rock type and it can be cut by amphibolite dykes.

Mafic minerals are usually a problem for detection by electromagnetic methods. In this case your biggest problem is depth and diverse deposits that will confuse identification. Commercial GPR penetrates to maximum of, say, 10m, and it is not enough for your application. There are GPR-s described in literature that operate at lower frequencies, but I have no idea if there are any of those available commercially. There are so-called "cable locators" that operate with distant transmitter and detect deep buried objects, but I'm not betting my sandwich for those to help you with your quest, as there is nothing specific to detect.
    I'd say acoustical imaging is better suited for this task. It will indicate bedrock as homogeneous mass, while sediments will be indicated as rough material deposits, and you'll clearly see boundaries between those, and also slopes of tectonic zones.

Comment