ROV with SSS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ROV with SSS

Hi, I'm new to your forum, I've already learned quite a bit since I found this site and i hope to learn much more.

Back story: I'm an engineer, about a year ago I decide it would be a fun project to build an ROV (I live in S FL, lots of water). The ROV is almost complete and will get wet for the first time this weekend. It's kind of a unique (I think) design. The ROV has an on-board Dell laptop and two microcontrollers, I communicate with the ROV via another computer and a 2.4Ghz WLAN. The antenna floats and is tethered to the ROV with CAT6 cable. The ROV is also capable of surface travel like a boat.

It just recently occurred to me, what am I going to do with this thing when it's finished and the novelty of playing with it wears off? I'd like it to have some useful purpose. I came up with the idea of using it to search canals for submerged cars. The idea is to scan the canal using SSS from the surface and then submerge to visually inspect the target with the camera.

Would SSS work for this? The average canal is ~20ft deep and ~200ft wide with very still but murky water. Could I have the ROV at the surface near one side of the canal and shoot the beam at an angle into the canal? Since the water is shallow can i use a high frequency, high res set-up?

Really, I'll appreciate any advice at all, is this even feasible? I'd be willing to pay $1500 or so for equipment.

Thanks!

gigahertz

Underwater ROV

To answer your questions it would be nice to have more details like measurements, data about power supply, pics a.s.o.

Greetings from Lake-Constance

Comment

Measurements of what?