Towfish advice and reviews please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Towfish advice and reviews please

Hi, I'm new to the towfish world and am looking at buying one for some academic research. We will be surveying in depths up to 50m, nearshore on lakes and sea and have tried boat-mounted sidescans before but suffer a lot with roll and pitch instability.

I've been looking at the Imagenex YellowFin, EdgeTech 4125, Tritech DST.

Has anybody any advice on which is the best performer? What aspects of the towfish really contribute to it's stability (i.e. should I be looking for large fins and long, thin bodies? What else?)

One thing I'm concerned about is the towfish getting snagged on something. Are there any fail-safes on some models?

I'm really interested in the towfish itself as we have experience of the sonar equipment.

Thanks,

Scott

In my opinion 4125-P is the best solution for low range and very high resolution sidescan. Don't bother with snagging. Always you can look for fishing nets using lower depth and later make scans with near bottom depth. As you told transom mount transducer is very vulnerable for boat tilt, so the resolution is poor for greater depth or you must hunt for extremly calm weather.
    4125-P is lightweight and mobile. Supply is possible using ordinary car accu. Resolution is excellent ( you can estimate single cod length!). Swath width for higher freq is good.
    Towfish stability is mainly influenced by the position of tow rope gimball. Fins are not so important. Removing fins in well made towfish has nearly no influence on stability. You can improve the stability and the angle of attack using simple depressor unit, also homemade. In this way it is possible to reach 40% increase in the depth.
    I am not aware about any fail-safe device, but for the depth up to 50 m the snagged towfish can be rescued by scubba diver.
    Now you have no other sidescans with such parameters. So go and buy!